Awakening the chakras

The word chakra is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, spinning wheel or flower.

by Davara ThunderBeat — 

The history of the chakras can be traced back to 2,500 B.C. and earlier; yogis have used the chakra system for thousands of years as an integral part of holistic healing. The ancient Egyptians, Chinese, Greeks, Romans, Mayans, Hindus and aborigines used the chakra system as an integrated part of their daily lives.

As these ancient civilizations were conquered, vast libraries of knowledge were destroyed. Only a few remnants of these cultures’ information about the chakra system have survived — the ancient texts preserved either by sacred priesthoods or orally, from generation to generation, as is typical among the traditions of many indigenous people.

What are chakras?

The word chakra is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, spinning wheel or flower. The chakras are centers of psychic awareness along the human spine, energies associated with our emotions, minds, bodies and spirits. Chakras draw in from the universe Divine life-force energy, which is also called ka, ke, chi or prana. They maintain our health and whole bodies.

The chakras also take in energy from the world around us and distribute it throughout our nerves and organs to sustain life. The chakras are the center points of the body that hold our memories. They store our positive and negative feelings, emotions and stress associated with all unresolved traumas, woundings and conflicts we have experienced over the course of our lives. They are where we store the residual energy of any experiences that leave us feeling happy, loving, grateful, sad, hurt, guilty, angry, unworthy, unloved, etc.

The seven major chakras of the human body are aligned along the spinal column. Each one is a vortex, etheric in nature, and which we can feel, more than see. Every part of the body has its own chakras. Each of your organs has seven chakras. The seven-chakra system also repeats itself in the hands, feet, neck, ribs, face and throughout the entire body.

Root chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine. The function and purpose of this chakra is grounding, stability, physical needs, security, survival and our relationship with the material world. It also is the center of manifestation.

The color red is associated with this chakra, which is the color of vitality and physical health. It is an active, dynamic energy that creates movement, passion and strong willpower. On the negative side are anger, aggression, violence, greed and survival fears.

The root chakra physically governs the reproductive system, vagina, prostate, adrenal glands, spinal column, tailbone, teeth, bones, legs and feet.

To ignore this chakra or its elements is to threaten one’s very survival. In our personal lives, if we fail to activate this chakra before we progress to the other chakras, our growth will be ungrounded and without roots, and will lack the stability necessary for longevity.


Davara ThunderBeat is a sound healer, composer, shamanic practitioner, Reiki master, teacher and psychic. She is the author, artist and composer of the Chakra Journey Series, Awakening the Chakras, and has won a Beacon of Light Award. 928-204-0752 or

Reprinted from AzNetNews, Volume 27, Number 1, February/March 2008.

, , , , , ,
Web Analytics